Awards Week: Cy Young Winners

11/16/2023 Awards Week: Cy Young Winners

By: Jeff Yoder

Gerrit Cole (Yankees) & Blake Snell (Padres) Win 2023 Cy Young Awards

Awards week continues! Wednesday’s focus was on the top pitchers in 2023, and Gerrit Cole has finally broken through. The Yankees’ ace won his first Cy Young award while Blake Snell took home his second. Cole was a unainmous pick by the BBWAA (30/30), and Snell wasn’t far off (28/30).


AL: Gerrit Cole (Yankees)

Cole captures his first ever Cy Young (hard to believe) after two runner-up finishes in previous campaigns. The Yankees’ righty was a unanimous selection in a year where he was head and shoulders above the AL competition. Cole was long regarded as one of the greatest pitchers to not have a Cy Young honor to his name, but those days are gone. In 2023, Cole was 15-4 (.789%) with 209 IP, 222 Ks and a 2.63 ERA. 2nd Place: Sonny Gray (Twins) / 3rd Place: Kevin Gausman (Blue Jays)


NL: Blake Snell (Padres)

Snell’s second Cy Young award comes as no surprise. He won his first as a member of the Rays in 2018. Snell was 14-9 in 2023 with 234 Ks and a 2.25 ERA. He’s the 22nd pitcher to win the award multiple times, but only the seventh player to win Cy Young awards in both leagues (NL & AL). Only three other pitchers won multiple with a larger gap (five years) in between — Gaylord Perry, Roger Clemens and Roy Halladay. 2nd Place: Logan Webb (Giants) / 3rd Place: Zac Gallen (D-Backs)


MLB Awards Week Schedule

Rookies: Corbin Carroll & Gunnar Henderson

Managers: Brandon Hyde & Skip Schumaker

Wednesday: Gerrit Cole & Blake Snell

Thursday: MVP Awards


Photo: Icon Sportswire / Getty Images