Managers of the Year

11/16/2022 Managers of the Year

By: Jeff Yoder

Terry Francona (Guardians) & Buck Showalter (Mets) Win MLB Manager of the Year Awards

The MLB’s awards week threw out the first pitch on Tuesday, and there will be more hardware to dish out in the days to come. Terry Francona (Guardians) and Buck Showalter (Mets) earned the Manager of the Year awards. Francona earned the American League honor after leading Cleveland to the AL Central crown with a 92-70 record. Showalter nabbed the National League title after the Mets shocked everyone with 101 wins.


Seasoned Vets: Tito & Buck

Both of the winning managers are no strangers to the Manager of the Year honor. Francona captured his third award while Showalter became the first manager to win it with four different teams (Yankees, Rangers, Orioles & Mets).


Rookie of the Year Award Winners (Monday)

Julio Rodriguez (Mariners) & Michael Harris II (Braves)


MLB Awards Week Schedule

Wednesday: Cy Young

Thursday: Most Valuable Player


Additional Storylines

NY Times: Buck Showalter & Terry Francona Are MLB’s Top Managers

ESPN: MLB Awards Week: Predictions & Everything You Need to Know for MVP, Cy Young & More


Image via MLB.comes