Ray & Burnes Capture Cy Young

11/18/2021 Ray & Burnes Capture Cy Young

By: Jeff Yoder

Robbie Ray (Blue Jays) & Corbin Burnes (Brewers) Win 2021 Cy Young Awards

MLB Awards Week rolls on, and two of the game’s best flamethrowers are taking home Wednesday’s hardware. Robbie Ray (Blue Jays) and Corbin Burnes (Brewers) were announced as the winners of the 2021 Cy Young Award. Ray won the AL honor with a runaway — 29 of 30 first-place votes — while Burnes edged out Zack Wheeler (Phillies) with 12 first-place votes each. Burnes had more second-place votes (14-9) to swipe the award.


AL Voting

1. Robbie Ray (TOR)

2. Gerrit Cole (NYY)

3. Lance Lynn (CWS)


NL Voting

1. Corbin Burnes (MIL)

2. Zack Wheeler (PHI)

3. Max Scherzer (WAS/LAD)


Cy Young Winners by the Numbers

R. Ray (TOR): 13-7 WL | 2.84 ERA | 193.1 IP | 248 Ks

C. Burnes (MIL): 11-5 WL | 2.43 ERA | 167 IP | 234 Ks


Additional Storylines

MLB: Final Cy Young Award Vote Totals

ESPN: Brewers’ Corbin Burnes Edges Phillies’ Zack Wheeler for NL Cy Young

NY Times: Cy Young Awards Go to Pitchers Who Never Stopped Believing


Photo: Mark Blinch / Getty Images